Pre-departure Preparations

I leave for India in a month! I cannot quite wrap my head around that fact. I spent the morning sitting in the BLS International waiting room where I was applying for my Indian visa (the whole room smelt like curry!), I have all of my many vaccinations, and I have already booked my flights. I am half way through my pre-departure checklist, yet most days I feel like I will be moving back to McKendree University in a few weeks. To be completely honest, I am starting to feel very nervous about leaving everything I have ever known far behind me. Some days I am unbelievably excited!! I get to travel to India, eat amazing food, see amazing sights, and take awesome classes! I’ll admit that some days I am crying and clinging to my television because I know the Walking Dead season comes back on in February. I am completely uprooting myself from my western, first world box, and I have no idea what to expect next. This is one of the biggest risks I have ever taken, and I know that I will not be the same Bekah when I come back to the states. Bring it on. As long as I leave my expectations in Illinois, allow myself to be flexible, and embrace change then I know this will be an amazing experience. I look forward to posting a lot of pictures, taking you step by step through my culture shock, and showing you how unbelievable and amazing India will be. I’m so excited, people!!!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

